• There are currently no news items available


Inclusive skills competitions

Competitions are a great way for all to show off their work skills and growing independence. Skills competitions are well established in mainstream Further Education and a few years ago Natspec, Derwin College and (what was then) North Warwickshire and Hinckley College, recognised there was no opportuntity for people with learning difficulties to take part and enjoy.     

Dr Neil Bentley
WorldSkills UK

Working in partnership with Natspec is part of our commitment to ensure that as many learners as possible have access to competition activity. We look forward to welcoming many more learners from the specialist and FE colleges, who have taken part in this activity, at this year's The Skills Show.

Peter
Derwin College

I thought it was intresting, good teamwork. Competitions are good because they show your skills and what you're good at.

Working together, Natspec have supported other specialist collleges to set up a series of competitions and formed the Inclusive Skills Competitions.  The competitions build links between colleges and with local and national businesses to showcase the skills that young people with learning difficulties and disabilities have. 

These days the competitions are open to people of all ages providing they are working up to level 1 and have recently been in education.  Inclusive Skills have been working with WorldSkills Uk for the past two years and have featured at the Skills Show.  Things have moved on and now Natspec, together with other further education colleagues and WorldSkills UK are aiming to have a branded suite of WorldSkills UK inclusive competitions in 2018.

Registration for entry into the 2017 competitions will be from 1st March - 7th April 2017.

This year's Inclusive Skills competitions in the West Midlands are:

ICT at South and City College Birmigham on 16th May

Media and Health & Social Care at North Warwickshire & Hinckley College on 18 May

Independence, Catering and Table Laying  at Derwin College on 24 May

Fitness Trainer at RNC on 17 May 

Hairdressing TBC

Landscaping TBC

There are resources which may help colleges develop Inlcusive Skills competitions.  The resources were created a few years ago, but are still relevant and will be able to give pointers for those new to competitions.

If you would like to enter Inclusive Skills Competitions in any other region you can get further details from the contacts below:

East Midlands - Pami Johal - pami.johal@nwhc.ac.uk

Eastern Region - Jeremy Lloyd - Jeremy-Lloyd@huntingdon.ac.uk

London - Andrew Beardall - andrew.beardall@south-thames.ac.uk

North East Region - Colin Galley - Colin.Galley@newdur.ac.uk

North West Region - Bernie White - bernie.white@seashelltrust.og.uk

Northern Ireland - Alison Anderson - AAnderson@belfastmet.ac.uk

Scotland- Margaret Darroch - Margaret.Darroch@cityofglasgowcollege.ac.uk

South East Region - Joanne Timms - Joanne.Timms@eastkent.ac.uk

South West Region - Kirsty Salter - kirstysalter@foxesacademy.ac.uk

Wales - Paul Evans - Paul2.Evans@colegsirgar.ac.uk

 

 

 

 

 


Upcoming Events
Event Calendar

April 2017

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30

May 2017

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31

View full calendar